For the sake of safety of New Jersey residents and voters during the COVID-19 pandemic, New Jersey is conducting its general election by mail in ballots this year. Ballots have already started being mailed to Jefferson residents. All mail-in ballots should be mailed by October 5, 2020. The return postage will be prepaid.  Voters can mail ballots back by postal service if preferred, although we'd recommend doing so immediately upon receipt to ensure likelihood of timely receipt by the Board of Elections offices.  


There are several ways you can turn in your ballot besides postal mail. The Jefferson Township Democratic Committee recommends this year that voters drop off their completed ballots to one of the secure video-monitored Board of Elections ballot drop boxes located around Morris County. The Board of Elections picks up the ballots from these drop boxes each night, safely and securely. Voters have until 8 p.m. on Election Day to drop their ballots off.


The nearest drop box to Jefferson Township will be at the Jefferson Township Municipal Building at 1033 Weldon Road, Oak Ridge, NJ 07438. It will be installed by September 30, 2020. The nearest drop box already installed prior to that date is at the Rockaway Municipal Complex at 65 Mount Hope Road, Rockaway, NJ 07866.


Voters can also drop off their ballots to the Board of Elections offices at 10 Court Street in Morristown on the second floor, or to the secure ballot drop box at the building there.  Finally, voters will have the option to drop off their ballots to poll workers on Election Day on November 3 at the underclassman cafeteria at Jefferson Township High School, 1010 Weldon Road, Oak Ridge, NJ 07438. This would entrust your ballot to a poll worker to turn in to the Board of Elections for you as opposed to just using the Board of Elections drop box that will be outside the municipal building.  

For more information on the 2020 Elections, visit the State of New Jersey Board of Elections website by clicking here or visit the Morris County Board of Elections website by clicking here.  Thank you for voting!

For more information about the candidates you'll see on your ballot in Column 1 and their positions, visit the following websites or pages:

For President:
VP Joseph R. Biden: or

For Vice President:
Senator Kamala Harris: or 

For Senate:
Senator Cory Booker:, and

For House Representative:
Mikie Sherrill:, and

For Morris County Freeholder:
Cary Amaro: or

For Town Council (Choose Three):
Pamela Fadden, Keith Peters, and Maria Short: or

There are multiple candidates running as write-in candidates for Jefferson Township Board of Education. At the time of this post, we have not found candidate pages set up on social media for them, but the intent to run was expressed in a local Facebook parents' group. The names are, in alphabetical order: Christine Chaplain Seugling, Lisa Giannotti, Christine Mallimo-Orna, Aaron Katz, Diane Perez, Monica Winkler, Lori Zenbun. Please research them and decide who you want on the BoE!